[tips]how to build synfig from git (Fedora 18)

Question and answers on how to build Synfig. We encourage you to document your findings on the build instructions page of the website
User avatar
jcome
Posts: 928
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:33 am
Location: Foshan City, China

[tips]how to build synfig from git (Fedora 18)

Postby jcome » Sat Jun 04, 2011 12:24 pm

0 pre-build

the essential tools and libs

Code: Select all

pkcon install git autoconf automake gcc-c++ ccache libtool libtool-ltdl-devel gettext-devel libxml++-devel gtkmm24-devel

optional packs for rendering targets with rpmfusion enabled

Code: Select all

pkcon install ImageMagick-devel ffmpeg



1 clone the source


Code: Select all

mkdir ~/Source && cd ~/Source/ &&  git clone git://synfig.git.sourceforge.net/gitroot/synfig/synfig


2 build

download the build script from http://synfig.org/wiki/Dev:Build_Instru ... ild_script and modify it if needed (I changed install path to "~/Apps/Synfig/"), save as synfig-build.sh:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
CPUS=1
prefix=~/Apps/Synfig
export PKG_CONFIG_PATH="$prefix/lib/pkgconfig"
export PATH=$(pwd)/synfig-core/src/tool/.libs:$PATH
export CXX="/usr/bin/ccache /usr/bin/g++"

cd synfig/ETL &&
autoreconf --install --force  &&
./configure --prefix $prefix &&
make --debug=b install  &&
               \
cd ../synfig-core     &&
libtoolize --copy --force  &&
autoreconf --install --force  &&
./configure --prefix $prefix --enable-optimization=0 --enable-debug   &&
make --debug=b -j $CPUS install     &&
                                  \
cd ../synfig-studio  &&
autoreconf --install --force   &&
./configure --prefix $prefix --enable-optimization=0 --enable-debug   &&
make --debug=b -j $CPUS install


and then start to build

Code: Select all

sh synfig-build.sh


3 test your build

Code: Select all

~/Apps/Synfig/bin/synfigstudio


4 to get updated with the latest changes
moving code base you regularly do

Code: Select all

cd ~/Source/synfig && git pull --rebase 

rebuild

Code: Select all

 cd ~/Soruce/ && sh synfig-build.sh
Last edited by jcome on Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:13 am, edited 10 times in total.
time flies...

User avatar
Genete
Site Admin
Posts: 4850
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:26 am
Location: Spain

Re: [tips]how to build synfig from git (fedora 15)

Postby Genete » Sat Jun 04, 2011 12:40 pm

Very straightforward! I'll make this post sticky.
Thanks jcome!
-G
Synfig needs your help!
Developers, packagers, bug testers, translators, artists, web developers, wiki writers... you can contribute! :D

User avatar
DaveJ
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 6:14 am
Location: Hungary

Re: [tips]how to build synfig from git (fedora 16)

Postby DaveJ » Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:20 am

I just tried this on a Fedora 17 Virtual Machine and it works perfectly. The only thing I found is you have to install Synfig from a binary (RPM) first because otherwise the install fails at the end when it tries to use synfig to create the Synfig icon as it doesn't try to use the synfig you just compiled to do this.

Many thanks for these instructions - I found them really, really helpful. It would have taken me weeks to work out how to compile Synfig without them!

User avatar
Genete
Site Admin
Posts: 4850
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:26 am
Location: Spain

Re: [tips]how to build synfig from git (fedora 16)

Postby Genete » Tue Jul 31, 2012 10:20 am

The only thing I found is you have to install Synfig from a binary (RPM) first because otherwise the install fails at the end when it tries to use synfig to create the Synfig icon as it doesn't try to use the synfig you just compiled to do this.


It means that something went wrong in the build process because the build script should add to your PATH the location of the just build synfig CLI (that is used to render the icons at synfigstudio build phase)
-G
Synfig needs your help!
Developers, packagers, bug testers, translators, artists, web developers, wiki writers... you can contribute! :D


Return to “Building synfig”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron