Anyone using Synfig for Rotoscoping? Can it be done?

General questions and answers about using Synfig. We encourage you to document your findings in the FAQ and Tips pages on the website.
Synforge
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 12:26 pm

Anyone using Synfig for Rotoscoping? Can it be done?

Postby Synforge » Sun Jan 11, 2009 7:12 am

Hi there,

For anyone who doesn't know, rotoscoping is essentially animating curves that create a mask for (usually) live action film. Given that Synfig is a tool for animating curves and shapes over time, it seems that it could be the perfect tool for the job. I'm just wondering

1. If anyone's tried this, and if so how it went.
2. If it's possible to import a video file into the background in synfig to be able to trace over.
3. If it's possible to blur different sections of an object different amounts (for example where a persons silhouette has one arm out of focus and another in focus).

Cheers

Synforge

User avatar
Genete
Site Admin
Posts: 4869
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:26 am
Location: Spain

Re: Anyone using Synfig for Rotoscoping? Can it be done?

Postby Genete » Sun Jan 11, 2009 7:58 am

Synforge wrote:Hi there,

For anyone who doesn't know, rotoscoping is essentially animating curves that create a mask for (usually) live action film. Given that Synfig is a tool for animating curves and shapes over time, it seems that it could be the perfect tool for the job. I'm just wondering

1. If anyone's tried this, and if so how it went.

http://es.youtube.com/watch?v=r1udEJiS6e4

2. If it's possible to import a video file into the background in synfig to be able to trace over.

The best way is to import the video as a image sequence. You can obtain a image sequence from a video using some of the tricks form this page. To import a video sequence see this wiki page.

3. If it's possible to blur different sections of an object different amounts (for example where a persons silhouette has one arm out of focus and another in focus).

Not possible at the moment. I started to code a gradient blur layer but I went in the wrong direction. You have to do it using masks (duplicate the footage, blur the top one and mask it with a feathered region onto the duplicated footage). See this thread.
Synfig needs your help!
Developers, packagers, bug testers, translators, artists, web developers, wiki writers... you can contribute! :D

User avatar
pixelgeek
Site Admin
Posts: 988
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:23 pm
Location: West Coast USA

Re: Anyone using Synfig for Rotoscoping? Can it be done?

Postby pixelgeek » Mon Jan 12, 2009 1:09 am

http://es.youtube.com/watch?v=F16PXMRT3GQ is also an example of rotoscoping done in Synfig. It was a video file converted into a list of pngs and imported. There is the capability now to import video, but it's not quite as responsive as working with pngs.

Chris

sgtsound45
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 2:57 am

Re: Anyone using Synfig for Rotoscoping? Can it be done?

Postby sgtsound45 » Mon Jan 23, 2012 3:00 am

I've also seen that video, but I'm wondering (as an extreme newbie) how to do it. The boards here are quite expansive, and I haven't quite found a tutorial for it just yet. Thank you all for your time.


Return to “Synfig related help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests